Aggressive driving isn’t just a problem in central California – it’s everywhere. While “road rage” is the worst kind of aggressive driving – and the kind that gets the media headlines – a number of unsafe driving practices can also be characterized as aggressive. Listed here are some of the aggressive driving behaviors that put every Californian at risk:
- driving in the wrong lane or in parts of two lanes
- improper and frequent lane changing
- failing to use signals
Approximately 1,000 people are killed every month in speed-related crashes in the United States. Speeding isn’t just dangerous. It’s also expensive, and it’s against the law. Cars and light trucks use about fifty percent more gasoline at 75 miles per hour than at 55 miles per hour. If you’re injured in a collision with a driver who was speeding, you have a legal right in California to file a personal injury claim and to seek compensation for your medical treatment, lost wages, and related expenses with the help of an experienced Fresno personal injury attorney. The NHTSA offers these tips for dealing with aggressive drivers:
- Get out of the way of aggressive drivers.
- Do not challenge aggressive drivers in any way.
- Avoid eye contact, which can sometimes enrage an aggressive driver.
- Ignore gestures and don’t return them.
- Report dangerous aggressive drivers. Have a passenger call 911 or pull over to a safe spot to make the call.
After any traffic collision in California, call the police and call for medical help if anyone is injured. Exchange your contact and insurance information with the other driver(s). If you can, take photographs of the vehicles, the accident scene, and any injuries. Don’t speak to any insurance company, don’t admit any fault before calling an experienced Fresno personal injury attorney, and make the call immediately.